A Marathon

A marathon is 26.2 miles. Yesterday’s writing marathon on Twitter was just as awesome as the excitement on race day. I was so happy to see the many writers who came and shared their energy, especially with 3 WIP drafts completed before 2014 came!

It kept me going, and I’m grateful for the company those first 13 hours. I spent most of my day in Starbucks drinking americanos, then went home for dinner and went right through until midnight. It was great to have company, to drop into twitter and join the writing buzz. 1am came, 2am came, then 3am, and New Years came to the West Coast. But I still wasn’t done.

I promised I’d sleep when my novel was done, since I was so close, so I pushed on. Morning came, and by 8am I was running a spell-check, all my rendering work complete. By 10am everything was ready in manuscript format, and by 11 it came together. But it didn’t stop there. I had to write a synopsis and a marketing proposal for my publisher as part of my submission, so away I went and…

26 and a bit hours later…the completed book was attached and submitted, after a writing marathon in every sense of the word.

Here’s to a wonderful 2014! All those writers who joined me, I wish you the best with your projects, and look forward to rounding everything up again next year.

(Pardon any typos…I’ll fix them in the morning)

🙂

Leave a Reply

